Thai Red Curry with Chicken

Serves 4:

Oh if Kathy Hughey Lee could see me now. She prolly can since she’s a FB friend. Kathy was my neighbor when I lived in Carson, CA; she and her mom were the first to introduce me to Thai culture. It was a while before my palate was ready but now I just can’t get enough. You’ll see a few Thai inspired dishes on the blog but I’ll start with my favorite…red curry.  This curry doesn’t really have ‘curry’ in it at all…it’s really a chili paste. Regardless…it’s coconutty and yummy. Plus you can do this yourself in less time that it takes for your local joint to deliver. Trust!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 7 – 8 Thai basil leaves
  • 1 small green bell pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 small can of bamboo shoots (5 oz)
  • 2 tbsp of red curry paste
  • 1 15-oz can of coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp EVOO

Prep It:

  • Heat a large skillet over medium heat.
  • Cut the onion and peppers into ½ in pieces.
  • Chop the basil into ribbons….chiffonade baby!
  • Slice chicken into ¼ in slices.

Cook It:

  • Add the oil to the sauté pan and heat for 30 – 60 seconds.
  • Cook the chicken until it’s lightly browned and cooked through. Remove and set aside.
  • Next add the peppers and onions to the pan and cook until the onions begin to turn translucent.
  • Add coconut milk to the pan scraping up any chicken drippings. After a minute, add curry paste. Use a spoon to break up curry until it’s totally dissolved. Add the basil leaves and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low.
  • Add chicken back and simmer for another 1 – 2 minutes or until the chicken is warmed through.

Thai Red Curry with Chicken

Serve It:

  • Serve over rice or rice noodles. This time I served it over steamed brown rice, which I happen to love.
  • If you like your curry spicy feel free to add more curry paste. I like mine mild so I tend to add a little less.
  • Change it up! Try adding a variety of veggies or proteins to your curry:
    • Shrimp, beef or pork all work perfectly. And for my Veggie Pals…use extra firm tofu instead.
    • Instead of bell peppers try Chinese eggplant or mushrooms.
    • Can’t get or don’t like bamboo shoots…try water chestnuts.
    • Use basil, cilantro or even mint if you can’t get Thai basil. That’s what Yoplait calls a ‘Swaportunity’!
10 thoughts on “Thai Red Curry with Chicken

  1. Hey this looks good. One piece of advice though, we Thais always cook the chili paste first. Just stir in the pan with a little bit of oil until you sneeze (oh yes you will). Or if you want to go truly traditional, use a little bit of thick coconut cream instead of oil for this. 🙂

  2. Hi Aly! This recipe sounds so good! Thanks for sharing! How spicy would you rate it from a scale from 1-10? My boyfriend is asking since he just likes it a little spicy 😛

    • Hi there! That’s a wonderful question. I get my red curry paste at my local Asian market. It’s a 4oz can of Thai red curry paste. The directions on the can call for adding the entire thing; I only go for half. I like my food jalapeno spicy….rather than habanero. If you were to order it at a restaurant I’d say this recipe is about medium. Try going with half…then taste the sauce. Add more if you’d like. The first time I did this I went for the whole can. My mouth was on fire but I’m a bit of a lightweight when it comes to spice. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

