Bacony Brussels Sprouts

Bacony Brussels Sprouts

Serves 3 – 4:

My brother makes a face every time I threaten to make Brussels sprouts. I wasn’t really a fan either until I tried cooking them this way. Honest engine! Roast them in bacon fat and these are anything but the blanched or boiled balls of bitterness you likely remember from your childhood. Really anything roasted is amazing but these green beauties undergo a wondermous transformation in the oven. I make these at least every other week and hope you will too

Ingredients:

  • 3 slices of bacon
  • 12 – 16 oz of brussels sprouts
  • ¼ cup balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • Salt and pepper

Prep It:

  • Clean the sprouts. Slice in half.
  • Heat a large ovenproof skillet over medium heat. If you’re using the balsamic also heat a small saucepan over medium high heat.
  • Preheat the oven to 375F.

Cook It:

  • Fry the bacon in the dry ovenproof skillet until the crisp and all the fat has rendered out. You’ll want to flip the slices over a few times throughout the process to keep them from burning. Drain and cool them on paper towels. Leave the bacon fat in the pan.
  • Meanwhile, bring the vinegar to a simmer in the saucepan and cook until the liquid has reduced by half.  Remove from heat and let it cool. It should be thick like maple syrup when it’s done. It will keep thickening as it cools and eventually resemble honey.
  • Add the sprouts to the skillet with the bacon fat and add up to 1 tbsp of EVOO if needed. Toss to coat the sprouts in the fat. Season them lightly with salt and pepper.
  • Transfer the pan to the over and roast the sprouts 25 – 30 minutes or until they turn lightly brown and are tender.

Serve It:

  • Serve sprouts hot drizzled with a bit of vinegar and some crumbled bacon bits.
  • U know….some folks don’t like the balsamic. That’s cool. Try shaving some Parmesan on top instead for a nice salty bite.
  • There’s really no substitute for Brussels sprouts but I promise you’ll love these. After all what isn’t good when cooked in bacon fat.

 

8 thoughts on “Bacony Brussels Sprouts

  1. I agree with you; when you mention Brussels sprouts people usually make a peculiar face. If they all ate it the way you make it, they will quickly change their minds! My mouth is watering! LOL…I make this dish often. Your picture hit the spot. Yum. Very well done!

  2. I’m not averse to Brussels Sprouts but still very rarely make them. However, the word BACONY immediately caught my eye, and I can very well imagine cooking them that way would taste fabulous. I just love bacon. Although if I made this it might turn into “Brussels Sprouty Bacon” 😀

  3. Oh, my husband is a Brussels sprouts fan, and roasting them in olive oil (and the usual suspects, salt and pepper) is my fuss-free way of getting myself to enjoy them as well. (I’m not such a fan, you see.) And yes, cheese always saves the day, too!

    • I like them with EVOO and S&P also. We make it that way most days…the bacon and balsamic are for special occasions. Cheese is always welcome!! If you use enough bacon I promise this will make you a lover too 😉

Leave a Reply

