Orzo with Sun Dried Tomato, Herbs and Cheese

Serves 8

Here’s a simple orzo salad that’s both flavorful and versatile. For example, switch up the type of cheese in this recipe to your liking; the day I made this I couldn’t find blue so I used gouda. You could switch out the basil for mint (they’re cousins you know) or throw in any other combinations you like. The best part is it will keep for a couple of days so you can (and should) make this in advance. It’s also great for picnics since there’s nothing in it that will go bad quickly. Enjoy!

Ingredients:                 

  • ¼ cup of fresh basil leaves (packed)
  • ¼ tbsp fresh parsley
  • 3 scallions
  • 1/3 cup of chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • ½ cup of cheese (grated parmesan, grated aged gouda or crumbled blue would all work)
  • 1 box of orzo
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice
  • ¼ cup EVOO

Prep It / Cook It:

  • Cook the orzo according to the directions on the package.
  • Meanwhile, chop the basil (chiffonade!!), parsley, green onions and sun dried tomatoes.
  • Prepare the vinaigrette:
    • Combine the EVOO, lime juice and pinch of salt and pepper in a bowl.
    • Whisk until the vinaigrette comes together and begins to thicken.
    • Once the orzo is cooked, drain and place in a large bowl. Add the herbs, onions, sundried tomatoes and cheese and stir a few times. Pour the marinade over the orzo and stir once again to finish combining.

Serve It:

  • You could eat this right away, but it’s better if you let all the flavors mingle. I like to set it in the fridge for a couple of hours to chill.
  • Serve this as a side with just about anything. I paired it with steak sandwiches but it would go well next to any grilled meats and could be served for either lunch or dinner. Honestly…I had it for brunch the next day and it rocked!
9 thoughts on “Orzo with Sun Dried Tomato, Herbs and Cheese

  1. Thank you for this kind of a excellent blog. In which else could 1 get such details written in these kinds of an incite full way? I have a presentation that I am just now working on, and I were searching for these kinds of information.

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  3. Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

    • Thank you Miss TPG 🙂 I used the dried ones and reconstituted them in warm water rathe than using the ones packed in oil. They have more of a fresh tomato taste than the other ones. They added a nice sweet little punch.

  4. Sounds so yummy. I MUST try this soon.
    Question: I didn’t see saffron or turmeric in the recipe. What turned the orzo yellow?

Leave a Reply

